Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Introduction of new member.  (Read 9528 times)

Ward Reilly

Introduction of new member.
« on: January 22, 2013, 06:41:18 PM »
Hi...a short introduction...my name is Ward Reilly...I've been digging since 1963 (primarily at Port Hudson, La)...my father was Robert M Reilly, the man who did the original line drawings of fuses in Tom Dickey's (and Pete George's) artillery books... thanks for accepting me in this forum...artillery fuses are a long-time favorite of mine...I was close friends with Chuck Jones (fuse book) for a long time, (RIP), and I have had the pleasure of digging with Chuck, Mr Dickey, Pete George, Billy Spedale, Ronnie McCallum,and many of the early "greats" in the world of relic hunting.

I'm a veteran of the Army Infantry, and I served as an 81mm mortar gunner in the Weapons Platoon of Co.'C', 1st Bn, 16th Infantry(Rangers), of the First Infantry Division (Big Red One), from 1971 to 1974.

I was going to post some pics of some unique fuses, but the photos I took are too large, so I'm going to have to try again later.   :>)

Anyway, happy to be here. Ward

emike123

• Administrator
    • Bullet and Shell
    • Email
Re: Introduction of new member.
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 08:48:26 PM »
Welcome.  We love fuses.  I like your name even if you do have the first and last name reversed, cuz.

Pete and Ronnie are here, the others you mentioned may be spiritually.

There is a limit to posting pictures through the forum of 256k per post.  That is about 600x600 or less.  This limit is here because we (correction, Carl) pays for the ISP costs by the megabyte of storage used each month.  Everybody should buy him a beer when they see him!

One of many end arounds to this size (and cost) limit is discussed in this thread:

http://bulletandshell.com/forum/index.php?topic=317.msg1962#msg1962

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 09:54:27 PM »
Ward,