Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Sumner Oscillating Bolt  (Read 7782 times)

scottfromgeorgia

• Email
Sumner Oscillating Bolt
« on: January 30, 2018, 12:20:42 PM »
These little bolts used to be hotly debated, since there is no known use of them, but is there any recent information on their source and use?

The following is from an exchange between Pete George and myself in 2006 after I bought one of these bolts from Lawrence Christopher:

"No collector or book-author I consulted has knowledge of any CS 2.25 BREECHLOADING rifled cannon having ever existed.  (Nor was there a US civil-war-era one.) That DuBose article seems to be the only place that a 2.25 breechloader is mentioned ...and DuBose only says "were apparently made."  Why say "apparently" instead of just "were made"?  As an author, I can tell you that you use "apparently" when your info isn't rock-solid and you need to keep some wiggle-room in your statement.  Why haven't any other cannon-historians been able to confirm what DuBose said 20-odd years ago?  (And remember, he only said "apparently.")

I (and the cannon-book authors) sure would to be able to talk to whoever wrote the "documentation" that came with the mystery-bolt.  We very much want to see his source-material about the Sumner Oscillating breechloader - and discover its caliber in that material.  If it is 2.25, why didn't he say so "outright"?  But he merely said the bolt is for it.

We know the following about them:
They've been found ONLY in the river at Milledgeville - no field-use is known ...nor even from a test-range.
They're found with CS shells - but so are the US 1880s friction-primers.
They'd fit a CS 2.25 Breechloader - but all the cannon-book authors know of no solid documentation that such a weapon existed.
There are two 2.24-inch US 1880s breechloading cannon models they'd fit.