Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Neat Schenkl  (Read 6699 times)

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
Neat Schenkl
« on: December 23, 2017, 07:35:25 AM »
Here is a neat shell I was happy to pick up at a recent show.  It is an early prototype Schenkl for the rifled 6-lber. it has a great example of the early iron percussion fuse.  Note there is no tail on it.
Best,
Carl

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
Re: Neat Schenkl
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2017, 08:33:59 AM »
WOW, Very nice.
It's not always "Survival of the fitest" sometimes the idiots get through.

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2017, 07:25:58 PM »
Ok, I missed it earlier, I am a novice I'll admit, however I did not realize there were any schenkl's made for any 6 pounder. how rare are they? Are there any common  pounder shenkyls that are reasonably priced.

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2017, 08:51:17 PM »
The caliber certainly isn’t rare and in fact there are a handful of varieties.  They aren’t common either. But early in the war they rifled a lot of 6-lber smoothbores and needed light ammunition for them so they created some Schenkl and later some Hotchkiss in a shorter lighter style than the longer rounds intended for 20-lber Parrott rifles. The longer Parrott rounds were too heavy and I don’t think Parrott ever made a light round.  Here is an example of the more typical round seen: 
http://www.bulletandshell.com/Items/item.php?id=A00944
« Last Edit: December 23, 2017, 08:53:09 PM by CarlS »
Best,
Carl

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2017, 09:21:19 PM »
ok I was thinking that a 6 pound shenkyl would have been smaller

svedra

« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 08:47:53 AM »
I believe the fuse in this makes it that much rarer...

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2017, 11:50:52 PM »