Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: ebay junk  (Read 4813 times)

Dave the plumber

• Email
ebay junk
« on: October 30, 2017, 08:40:50 PM »
 I spent a little while cruising on ebay artillery categories the other night, and I got pretty pissed off at all the fake, no other word for it, bullshit crap that people are passing off for artillery tools. I mention this because another thread here started talking about certain ebayers and their fake made up crap.
     I'm no expert,  and I gotta admit I learned the hard and expensive way years ago, that all these artillery worms, tow hooks, ring gauges, linstocks, fuze wrenches, mortar tongs, gimlets, and a host of other tools are almost all, 100% fake. And my apologize to the great state of Pennsylvania, but there is someone up there, a  blacksmith,  mass producing this trash and selling it to a host of unscroupulous dealers on ebay taking good peoples good money. Maybe I'm pissed cause I learned the hard way myself.... I feel for the people getting ripped off. Once they find out it's trash, they might decide to not bother collecting and give it up and not care to pass down history and knowledge to others. That's a sad fact.... I wouldn't blame them
  And all these chain shot, expanding bar shot, bar shot etc. is all junk too.  And I see it going for big money week after week after week.
  Anything with US stamped in a wood handle is nothing more than firewood from ebay, too. They might as well embellish it some more and say it was recovered from Gettysburg too, while they are at it !!
    Forgive me for venting, but I hate outright crooks. I know good dealers that have come up unwittingly with this stuff, and when informed, take it off their sites or tables at a show, without hesitation. Good for them !!