Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Bullet surface finds  (Read 4146 times)

Lsteed90

Bullet surface finds
« on: April 12, 2017, 11:53:34 PM »
Hey! I'm new to this site. It was recommended by several people in a civil war identification and collectors group on Facebook. I am new to hunting artifacts and have recently found some bullets on 2 sites I look for arrowheads on. If anyone can help me identify these or give me any kind of info to start out  I would really appreciate it! - Lindsay (Mississippi Delta)

divedigger

• Email
Re: Bullet surface finds
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 06:16:29 PM »
hello and welcome to the forum. I'm no bullet expert but I am a digger and see this stuff regularly, sort of. The first picture appears to be a musket ball, the second is most likely a shotgun pellet and the third looks like a thing I found once and was told it was "not much to it". But I don't know. Somebody that does know will eventually weigh in and hopefully satisfy your curiosity. There are some experts here and they are very helpful.

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2017, 10:04:25 PM »
Hello again, I m the one who directed you to this site from facebook. that dark colored one looks more modern to me in this bigger picture, looks like a copper jacketed bullet. but the one round ball is nice.
It's not always "Survival of the fitest" sometimes the idiots get through.

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2017, 10:05:22 PM »
And the professionals will be chiming in real soon, trust me.
It's not always "Survival of the fitest" sometimes the idiots get through.

Pete George

• Email
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2017, 04:29:29 PM »
  Welcome to the Civil War Projectiles forum, Lindsay.  :)

I'm one of the ol'timers who hangs out here.  Although digging and dealing cw artillery projectiles are my specialty area of relic study, I was a cw bullet digger and (small time) bullet dealer for about 40 years.