Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Phil Collins donates his Alamo collection  (Read 6843 times)

Bryan

• Email
Re: Phil Collins donates his Alamo collection
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 09:26:47 AM »
http://www.kens5.com/home/Authentication-of-Collins-artifacts-are-not-a-concern-for-Alamo-264798811.html

I'm not good at cutting and paste.  So I hope this works.   It was a big event here in San Antonio.  Going to go see it when it shows up.

Bryan

• Email
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 09:55:58 AM »
Alamo artifacts...or just antiques?

Musician Phil Collins is donating his massive collection of Alamo artifacts to the state of Texas, but are they really from the Alamo?

http://www.kens5.com/home/Alamo-artifactsor-just-antiques-264662351.html

First one worked :)  So here's another news clip from the day before.  can't find the 6pm interview about his prized  piece so we'll have to guess

misipirelichtr

• Email
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2014, 07:39:10 PM »
Truth is, and Mr. Collins is clear about it in his book "The Alamo and Beyond: A Collector's Journey", that while the vast majority of his collection is correct to the period, when buying on the open market, its always open to debate.  But without a doubt, some of the collection can be documented to the battle of the Alamo.  Much more can be documented to men on both sides who were there.  And he has a number of relics that he personally excavated from under a building across from the Alamo

By the way, if you have a passion for the Alamo, the aforementioned book "The Alamo and Beyond: A Collector's Journey" is profusely illustrated from Mr. Collins' collection (quality color photos) and his narrative about how he came to obtain and research each relic illustrated.  It's a bit pricy, but at least for me was well worth every cent.  I've read it through several times.